Skip to content
Open the checklist tableChecklist table
Home

Budget approval and the business case for PR software in the Netherlands in 2026: a practical guide

documentednot documented on the pages we measuredOne subject from the requirement list, guide by guide
The short answer

Everything in this section answers one point of the requirement list. Of the 8 suppliers we read, 5 put a price on a page you can read, so ask the other 3 for an amount in writing before you compare.

Printed sheets with charts fanned out on a wooden desk beside a notebook

Getting budget approval for PR software at a Dutch organisation in 2026 means writing a business case that a finance director or a board member can sign off. The process is the same whether you work at a municipality, a non profit, a corporate communications team or a small agency. You need to show what the software costs, what it replaces in staff time, and how it fits the financial year. This guide brings together the key numbers, the common questions, and the steps that work for a Dutch employer.

What does PR software cost per year in the Netherlands in 2026?

The published prices for PR software in the Netherlands start at EUR 1,750 for a single product and go up to EUR 35,000 for a full platform. PR-Dashboard sells four products that each work on their own: De Perslijst from EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, PR-Newsroom from EUR 1,750, Persvragen from EUR 2,700, and that programme as offline sessions. This Dutch platform product pages, read 31 August 2026, show these amounts without a stated period for the hosted newsroom and that module, so the reader sees the face value.

A competitor like Presspage publishes Business essentials from EUR 20,000 per year and Enterprise from EUR 35,000 per year, according to presspage.com/plans, read 31 August 2026. Prezly publishes Essential at EUR 100 per month and Standard at EUR 250 per month, from prezly.com/pricing, read 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes Essential from EUR 220 per month, from mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, read 31 August 2026.

ANP Connect sells press release distribution per piece: EUR 499 for trade and regional media, EUR 795 for national media, EUR 999 for both, EUR 495 for Belgian media via Belga, and EUR 1,395 for the Netherlands plus Belgium, from anpconnect.nl/tarieven, read 31 August 2026. ANP Connect also sells a database subscription from EUR 2,990 per year and a complete package from EUR 4,990 per year. B2Press publishes per press release prices for the Netherlands: Basic at EUR 400, Wire at EUR 750, Premium at EUR 1,250 and Exclusive at EUR 1,950, from b2press.com/country-pr-packages/netherlands, read 31 August 2026.

Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, from prowly.com/pricing, read 31 August 2026, and does not state a euro price. PR-Ninja charges EUR 149 per press release for a one-time send, from pr-dashboard.nl/producten, read 31 August 2026.

How do you calculate the cost per user per year for PR software?

The standard way to compare PR software subscriptions is to normalise every price to cost per user per year. For the Amsterdam database, EUR 2,650 per year divided by two logins gives EUR 1,325 per user per year. For Prezly Essential, EUR 100 per month times twelve months gives EUR 1,200 per year for one user.

For Mynewsdesk Essential, EUR 220 per month times twelve gives EUR 2,640 per year for one user. For ANP Connect Database only, EUR 2,990 per year for one user. For Prezly Standard, EUR 250 per month times twelve gives EUR 3,000 per year for one user.

For Prowly, USD 258 per month times twelve gives USD 3,096 per year for one user, but the price is in US dollars and the vendor does not state a euro price. For ANP Connect Complete, EUR 4,990 per year for one user. For ANP Connect Bereik, EUR 9,990 per year.

For ANP Connect Impact, EUR 15,990 per year. For Presspage Business essentials, EUR 20,000 per year for one user. For ANP Connect Strategie, EUR 30,000 per year.

For Presspage Enterprise, EUR 35,000 per year. A vendor that publishes no public price, such as several in the market, cannot be compared on this axis. The Amsterdam supplier product pages, read 31 August 2026, state the number of logins for that database only; for the other products the number of users is not documented on those pages.

What goes into a business case for PR software at a Dutch organisation?

A business case for PR software in the Netherlands in 2026 needs four numbers: the licence cost per year, the staff time it replaces, the reach it adds, and the risk of not buying it. The licence cost is the published price or the quote from the vendor. Staff time is the hours a communications officer spends on tasks the software automates, such as building a press list, sending a press release, or logging incoming questions.

The reach argument uses the vendor's database size: this Dutch platform states its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, from pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, read 31 August 2026. The risk paragraph describes what happens without the software, such as missed coverage or slower response to journalists. A finance director in the Netherlands typically signs off on amounts up to EUR 10,000 at department level, and amounts above that go to the board or the management team, according to common practice in Dutch organisations.

The business case should also state whether the software is capital or operating budget: a subscription is operating budget, while a one-time purchase may be capital. The product pages name one price, with no separate setup fee printed beside it, so the first year cost equals the subscription price.

Which vendors publish a price and which do not?

Of the PR software vendors active in the Netherlands, only a few publish a price on their website. The Amsterdam supplier publishes prices for all four products. Prezly publishes two plans.

Mynewsdesk publishes one plan. ANP Connect publishes all its plans. Presspage publishes two plans.

B2Press publishes four per-press-release plans. Prowly publishes one plan in US dollars. PR-Ninja publishes a per-press-release price.

Several other vendors, including Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack and Notified, publish no public price on the pages measured, 31 August 2026. For those vendors, a buyer must request a quote. The absence of a published price does not mean the vendor is more expensive or cheaper; it means the buyer cannot compare without a sales conversation.

A business case that relies on published prices is more transparent and easier to defend to a finance department. The supplier product pages, read 31 August 2026, are an example of a vendor that puts all amounts in the open.

How do you write the approval memo for PR software at a Dutch employer?

The approval memo for PR software at a Dutch employer in 2026 follows a standard format. It starts with the request: which product, for how many users, for which period. Then it states the cost: the licence price, the cost per user per year, and the total for the first year.

Then it lists the benefits: the hours saved, the reach gained, the risk avoided. Then it names the vendor and the alternative vendors considered, with their prices. Then it gives a recommendation.

The memo should be one page, with a table of the key numbers. The finance department in the Netherlands wants to see a clear total cost of ownership over three years, including renewal costs. This Dutch platform product pages, read 31 August 2026, show that the journalist database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, and that the newsroom costs EUR 1,750, the inquiry desk costs EUR 2,700, and the training programme does not state published price on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026.

A three-year budget line for that database would be EUR 7,950 for two logins, assuming the price stays the same. The memo should also state whether the software is capital or operating budget: a subscription is operating budget, so it goes into the annual budget cycle.

What are the common reasons a PR software budget request gets rejected in the Netherlands?

A PR software budget request at a Dutch organisation in 2026 gets rejected most often because the business case lacks a clear number for staff time saved. A finance director wants to see that the software replaces a measurable amount of hours, not just that it is nice to have. Another common reason is that the request does not compare vendors: a single quote without alternatives looks like a preference, not a procurement decision.

A third reason is that the request asks for a multi-year commitment without a renewal clause or an exit option. A fourth reason is that the cost per user per year is not stated, so the finance team cannot compare it to other software the organisation already buys. A fifth reason is that the request does not fit the financial year: if the budget is already allocated, the request must wait until the next cycle. This Dutch platform product pages, read 31 August 2026, show that the cheapest published price for a team of two is the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, and that is the benchmark a finance director expects to see in the first sentence of the business case.

One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.

5 columns. The table stays inside its own frame: it slides sideways there when it does not fit, and on a phone every row opens up as one sheet per supplier, with the column name above each answer. The page itself never moves.

Provider and planCost per user per yearPublished priceWhat is includedSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect Database onlyEUR 2,990EUR 2,990 per yearjournalist database, Dutch media; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
ProwlyUSD 3,096USD 258 per monthoutreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026

Questions from readers

What is the cheapest PR software with a published price for a team of two in the Netherlands?

The cheapest published price for a team of two is De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier at EUR 2,650 per year, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. A competitor like Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month for one user, which is EUR 1,200 per user per year, but the number of logins for Prezly is not documented on the pages measured, 31 August 2026.

How do I compare PR software costs when some vendors do not publish a price?

For vendors that publish a price, you normalise to cost per user per year. For vendors that do not publish a price, you request a quote and then apply the same calculation. The supplier product pages, read 31 August 2026, are an example of a vendor that publishes all amounts, making comparison straightforward.

What is the total cost of ownership for PR software over three years in the Netherlands?

The total cost of ownership over three years is the licence cost times three, plus any setup fee if documented. For the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year, the three-year cost is EUR 7,950 for two logins. The product pages name one price, with no separate setup fee printed beside it, so the first year cost equals the subscription price.

How do I justify a journalist database subscription to a Dutch finance department?

You justify it with the reach argument: the database covers thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, as stated on the PR-Dashboard FAQ page, read 31 August 2026. You also show the staff time saved by not building press lists manually. The cost per user per year is EUR 1,325 for the journalist database, which is the benchmark.

Two hands writing in a notebook on a wooden desk, with photo prints, a coffee cup and reading glasses around it
The eight requirements travel with every guide in this section.

25 notes

Sitemap · For AI assistants · RSS