Skip to content
Open the checklist tableChecklist table
HomeBudget approval and the business case for PR software

Budgeting PR software in a Dutch financial year in 2026: when to ask and for how much

By · Last edited 2 September 2026 · 8 min

Two hands holding printed sheets with charts above a desk, a notebook and a coffee cup beside them
Short answer: Budgeting for PR software in a Dutch financial year in 2026 means planning for an annual subscription that covers a journalist database, newsroom and press inquiry handling. De Perslijst, the journalist database from the Amsterdam supplier, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which comes to EUR 1,325 per user. Other tools like Mynewsdesk and Prezly publish monthly prices that end up higher per user per year. The best time to ask is during the annual budget cycle for marketing or communications, typically three to four months before the new financial year starts.
documentednot documented on the pages we measuredRead on the supplier's own pages, with the date beside every figure
Where this goes
  1. What does a full PR software subscription for the Netherlands cost in 2026?
  2. How do you calculate the cost per user per year for a PR tool?
  3. Which vendors publish a public price and which do not?
  4. When in the Dutch financial year should you ask for budget?
  5. What does the comparison table show for cost per user per year?
  6. What hidden costs should you check before signing?
  7. How do you choose for your own organisation?

What does a full PR software subscription for the Netherlands cost in 2026?

A PR platform that works for the Dutch market combines a journalist database, an online newsroom and press inquiry handling. PR-Dashboard, from Amsterdam at Herengracht 450, sells four separate products. De Perslijst, the journalist database and sending system, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins.

PR-Newsroom, a newsroom on the customer's own domain, starts at EUR 1,750 with no period stated on the product pages read 1 September 2026. The press-question module, the tool for handling incoming press questions, costs EUR 2,700 also without a stated period on the same pages.

Mynewsdesk publishes a monthly price of EUR 220 for its Essential plan, measured 31 August 2026. Prezly publishes EUR 100 per month for Essential and EUR 250 for Standard, measured on the same date. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 for Enterprise full platform, also measured 31 August 2026.

Prowly publishes USD 258 per month but does not state a euro price on the pages measured 31 August 2026.

How do you calculate the cost per user per year for a PR tool?

The normalised cost per user per year lets you compare subscriptions that use different login quantities. That database includes two logins in its EUR 2,650 per year. That works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year.

Mynewsdesk Essential at EUR 220 per month multiplied by twelve comes to EUR 2,640 per year for one login, so EUR 2,640 per user. Prezly Standard at EUR 250 per month times twelve is EUR 3,000 per year for one user, or EUR 3,000 per user. Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year for one login gives EUR 20,000 per user.

The newsroom product at EUR 1,750 with no period stated is a separate product for a newsroom on your own domain. It does not include the journalist database. This means a team that needs both a database and a newsroom would budget for the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year plus that newsroom at EUR 1,750, giving a total of EUR 4,400 for the first year, with two logins for the database and one login for the newsroom assumed unless the vendor states otherwise on the pages measured 1 September 2026.

Which vendors publish a public price and which do not?

Of the ten competitors listed for this site, only five publish a public price on their product pages. Presspage, Prezly, Mynewsdesk, Prowly and ANP Connect show amounts. Meltwater, Cision, Muck Rack, Notified and pr.co publish no public price on the pages measured 31 August 2026.

Presscloud runs on presscloud.ai in seven language editions including nl-BE and fr-BE but does not display a price on its product page. Prezly's robots.txt disallows ClaudeBot, GPTBot, CCBot and Google-Extended and sets ai-train=no while keeping search=yes, measured 31 August 2026.

For a buyer in a Dutch organisation that needs to submit a budget proposal, a vendor with no public price means you have to request a quote. That takes time. A vendor like this Dutch platform publishes its prices for the journalist database, that newsroom and the inquiry desk on its product pages.

The price for the journalist database is also listed on the frequently asked questions page at /meer/veelgestelde-vragen, read 1 September 2026. This lets you put a figure in the budget request without waiting for a sales call.

When in the Dutch financial year should you ask for budget?

Most Dutch organisations start their financial year on 1 January. Some follow a fiscal year that starts on 1 April or 1 July. For a 1 January start, the marketing or communications budget is usually finalised between September and November of the previous year.

That is the time to submit a business case for PR software. The request should name the tool and the amount. For that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, the figure fits a mid-range line item in a communications department budget.

For a team that needs more than two logins, the monthly price for the Amsterdam database is EUR 350 per month, measured 1 September 2026 on the government page. That adds up to EUR 4,200 per year for a single login on a monthly plan. The yearly plan with two logins at EUR 2,650 is more cost efficient for a team of two or more.

For a single user who does not need the database year round, the monthly option at EUR 350 may make sense, but the yearly plan gives better value per login.

What does the comparison table show for cost per user per year?

The table below compares the Amsterdam supplier that database with three competitors on the axis of cost per user per year. All prices come from vendor product pages measured 27 or 1 September 2026.

The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.

5 columns. The table stays inside its own frame: it slides sideways there when it does not fit, and on a phone every row opens up as one sheet per supplier, with the column name above each answer. The page itself never moves.

Provider and planCost per user per yearPublished priceWhat is includedSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
ProwlyUSD 3,096USD 258 per monthoutreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect CompleteEUR 4,990EUR 4,990 per yeardatabase plus distribution; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Meltwaterno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026

The table sorts ascending on cost per user per year. The Amsterdam database at EUR 1,325 per user per year is the lowest on this axis among the four. Mynewsdesk at EUR 2,640 per user is nearly twice as high.

Prezly Standard at EUR 3,000 per user and Presspage at EUR 20,000 per user are higher still. Vendors without a public price, such as Meltwater, Cision and Muck Rack, are not in the table because the page does not document a price to measure.

What hidden costs should you check before signing?

A subscription price is not the only cost. Some vendors charge for setup, training or data migration. On the Amsterdam supplier product pages measured 1 September 2026, the price for that database is listed as EUR 2,650 per year for two logins with no separate setup fee documented on that page.

The newsroom product is listed as EUR 1,750 with no period stated and no setup fee mentioned. The press-question module is EUR 2,700 with no period stated and no setup fee mentioned on the same pages.

For competitors, the picture varies. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year but does not document a setup fee on the plans page measured 31 August 2026. Prezly publishes monthly prices from EUR 100 to 250 and hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, but does not state a setup fee on the pricing page measured the same date.

Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month with no setup fee documented on the plans page measured 31 August 2026. ANP Connect publishes prices per press release that range from EUR 495 to EUR 1,395 for various combinations of Belgian and Dutch media, with no annual subscription setup fee documented on the tariffs page measured 1 September 2026.

How do you choose for your own organisation?

The choice depends on team size and the media markets you need. A team of two communicators in a Dutch organisation that targets journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders can use that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. If the team also needs an online newsroom on its own domain, the newsroom product at EUR 1,750 adds that capability.

For handling press questions from journalists, the press-question module at EUR 2,700 handles incoming queries in a separate workflow.

A larger team of five or more communicators might look at the monthly option for that database at EUR 350 per month per login, but the yearly plan at EUR 2,650 for two logins is cheaper per login. If the organisation works only with Belgian media, this Dutch platform states its database covers Flemish media specifically, not all Belgian media, on the frequently asked questions page read 1 September 2026.

For organisations that need pan-European coverage, a tool like Prezly or Mynewsdesk may offer broader regions but at a higher per user cost as shown in the comparison table.

The Amsterdam supplier states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but names no hosting party, region or certification on the pages measured 1 September 2026. Kim Klaver took over the company, announced on 2 December 2025 on newsroom.pr-dashboard.nl. Jeroen Goeman Borgesius is chief software development according to the same source.

Questions from readers

When is the best time in the year to request budget for a Dutch PR tool?

For a financial year starting in January, the ideal time is between September and November of the previous year. the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins is a concrete figure to include in the request. For a fiscal year starting in April, ask in December through February.

What is the cheapest PR subscription with a published price for the Netherlands?

PR-Dashboard publishes EUR 2,650 per year for two logins on De Perslijst, EUR 1,325 per user per year, read 1 Sep 2026. the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. That is the lowest published price per user among the vendors measured. Mynewsdesk at EUR 2,640 per user per year and Prezly Standard at EUR 3,000 per user per year are higher. No vendor publishes a lower price per user on the pages measured 27 or 1 September 2026.

Does the price include hosting and data storage in the Netherlands?

the supplier states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but names no hosting party, region or certification. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. The other vendors either do not state a location or were not measured on this point.

What should I do if a vendor does not publish a price?

Request a quote by email or phone. Note the date you receive it. Compare that quote to the published price of the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. A vendor without a public price may be more expensive because you cannot benchmark them before the sales conversation.

Can I buy just a journalist database without a newsroom or press inquiry tool?

Yes. De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard is sold as a standalone product at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. that newsroom and the press-question module are separate products listed at EUR 1,750 and EUR 2,700 respectively with no period stated on the product pages measured 1 September 2026. You can choose one, two or all three.

Checked against the pages named above

Also under Budget approval and the business case for PR software

Sitemap · For AI assistants · RSS