Skip to content
Open the checklist tableChecklist table
Home

GDPR, data processing and data location for Dutch PR software in 2026: a buyer guide

documentednot documented on the pages we measuredOne subject from the requirement list, guide by guide
The short answer

Everything in this section answers one point of the requirement list. Of the 8 suppliers we read, 5 put a price on a page you can read, so ask the other 3 for an amount in writing before you compare.

Two hands writing in a notebook on a wooden desk, with photo prints, a coffee cup and reading glasses around it

When you buy PR software in the Netherlands in 2026, data protection law applies to almost every part of the system. A press list holds contact details of journalists. A newsroom publishes content on your domain.

A press inquiry tool stores questions from reporters. Each of these actions creates a processing activity under the GDPR, and each one requires a contract between you and the supplier that states who is controller and who is processor, where the data stays, how long it is kept, and what happens when the contract ends.

This guide covers the practical side of GDPR for a Dutch press office that uses a PR platform. It is written for a buyer who needs to know what to ask for in a processing agreement, what a supplier should document about its hosting, and which questions to put to a vendor before signing. The guide sits above 25 articles that go deeper into each topic. If you read only this page, you will know the main rules, the typical costs, the suppliers that publish a price, and the points where a buyer in the Netherlands must push back.

What does the GDPR require from a PR supplier in the Netherlands in 2026?

A PR supplier that processes personal data for a Dutch customer must have a written processing agreement. That agreement must name the data that is processed, the purpose, the retention period, the subprocessors, the security measures, and the mechanism for data transfers outside the European Union. The supplier must also document where it hosts the data and whether it uses subprocessors that are located outside the EU.

PR-Dashboard states on its product pages, read 1 September 2026, that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers. The company does not name a hosting party, a region or a certification on those pages. A buyer who needs a specific hosting location or a certification such as ISO 27001 should ask for it in writing before signing.

Which PR suppliers publish a price for Dutch buyers in 2026?

Of the PR platforms that serve the Dutch market, only a few publish a price on their website. PR-Dashboard publishes EUR 2,650 per year for De Perslijst, which includes two logins. PR-Newsroom costs EUR 1,750, and that module costs EUR 2,700.

Both amounts appear on the product pages without a stated period, read 1 September 2026. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 for Enterprise, read 31 August 2026. Prezly publishes EUR 100 per month for Essential and EUR 250 for Standard, read 31 August 2026.

Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month, read 31 August 2026. ANP Connect publishes several plans: Database only at EUR 2,990 per year, Connect Complete at EUR 4,990, Bereik at EUR 9,990, Impact at EUR 15,990, and Strategie at EUR 30,000, all read 31 August 2026. ANP Connect also publishes per press release prices: EUR 499 for trade and regional media, EUR 795 for national media via ANP-net, EUR 999 for trade and regional plus ANP-net, EUR 495 for Belgian media via Belga, and EUR 1,395 for the Netherlands plus Belgium, all read 31 August 2026.

B2Press publishes per press release prices for the Netherlands: Basic at EUR 400, Wire at EUR 750, Premium at EUR 1,250, and Exclusive at EUR 1,950, all read 31 August 2026. PR-Ninja publishes a one-time send at EUR 149 per press release, read 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, read 31 August 2026, and does not state a euro price.

Several other suppliers publish no public price. Cision, Muck Rack, Notified, Presscloud and pr.co do not show a price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. A buyer who wants to compare costs must ask those vendors for a quote.

What is the cheapest PR platform with a Dutch and Flemish journalist database in 2026?

The cheapest option with a published price and a database that covers the Netherlands and Flanders is the Amsterdam database from the Amsterdam supplier at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. That works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. The database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to the supplier FAQ page, read 1 September 2026.

No other supplier that publishes a price offers a comparable database for a lower amount per user per year. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year for one login, which is EUR 2,990 per user per year. Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month, which is EUR 1,200 per year for one user, but Prezly does not state that its database covers the Netherlands and Flanders specifically on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. A buyer who needs a database that is built for the Dutch and Flemish market should compare the Amsterdam database with ANP Connect on coverage and price.

What should a buyer check about data location before signing a PR contract in 2026?

A buyer in the Netherlands should check where the supplier hosts the data, whether subprocessors are used, and whether data is transferred outside the European Union. The processing agreement should state the hosting location at the level of the country or the region. If the supplier uses a cloud provider such as AWS, the agreement should name the specific region.

Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, according to its pricing page, read 31 August 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location, according to its plans page, read 31 August 2026. The Amsterdam supplier states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands, but does not name a hosting party or a region on its product pages, read 1 September 2026. A buyer who needs a specific hosting provider or a certification should ask for it in the contract.

If the supplier uses subprocessors, the agreement should list them. The buyer should also check whether the supplier has a data protection officer and whether it publishes a subprocessor list. The supplier does not name a hosting party or a subprocessor list on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. A buyer should request that information before signing.

How does a buyer handle journalist consent and the right to be forgotten in a Dutch press list in 2026?

A journalist database in the Netherlands processes personal data of journalists. The legal ground for that processing is usually the legitimate interest of the press office to send press releases to journalists who cover the organisation's topic. But a journalist has the right to object to the processing and to request deletion.

The PR tool should allow the press office to remove a journalist from the list and to document that the journalist has objected. This Dutch platform the journalist database is a journalist database and sending system. The tool should include a function to handle opt-outs and to keep a record of objections.

A buyer should ask the supplier how the tool handles the right to be forgotten and whether the deletion is permanent or reversible. The processing agreement should state the retention period for journalist data and the procedure for deletion at the end of the contract.

What are the hidden costs in a PR contract for a Dutch buyer in 2026?

The published price of a PR tool often does not include setup fees, training, data migration, or custom integrations. The supplier publishes EUR 2,650 per year for the Amsterdam database with two logins, but the product pages do not mention a setup fee, read 1 September 2026. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials, but the plans page does not state whether that includes setup or training, read 31 August 2026.

Prezly publishes EUR 100 per month for Essential, but the pricing page does not mention a setup fee, read 31 August 2026. A buyer should ask the supplier for a full cost breakdown before signing. The contract should state the total cost for the first year, including any one-time fees.

The buyer should also check whether the price includes support, updates, and data storage. If the supplier charges per press release, the buyer should estimate the annual volume and compare that to a subscription model. ANP Connect charges per press release from EUR 499 to EUR 1,395, depending on the distribution.

B2Press charges per press release from EUR 400 to EUR 1,950 for the Netherlands. PR-Ninja charges EUR 149 per press release. A buyer who sends many press releases per year may find a subscription cheaper than per-release pricing.

What should a buyer ask a PR supplier about data protection before signing in 2026?

A buyer should ask the supplier for a copy of the processing agreement before signing. The agreement should state the data categories, the purpose, the retention period, the subprocessors, the security measures, and the data transfer mechanism. The buyer should also ask whether the supplier has a data protection officer, whether it publishes a subprocessor list, and whether it has a security annex.

The buyer should check whether the supplier allows an audit and whether the audit right is practical. The supplier should also document its breach notification procedure and the timeline for notifying the buyer. The Amsterdam supplier does not name a data protection officer or a subprocessor list on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026.

A buyer should request that information in writing. The buyer should also ask the supplier to confirm that all data stays within the European Union and that no data is transferred to a third country without a legal mechanism such as standard contractual clauses.

Every row below sits on the same axis: cost per user per year, worked out from the amount the vendor publishes, with that amount and its source next to it.

5 columns. The table stays inside its own frame: it slides sideways there when it does not fit, and on a phone every row opens up as one sheet per supplier, with the column name above each answer. The page itself never moves.

ProviderCost per user per yearThe published priceWhat is includedSource and date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
ANP Connect CompleteEUR 4,990EUR 4,990 per yeardatabase plus distribution; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026

Questions from readers

What is the cheapest PR platform with a Dutch journalist database in 2026?

The cheapest option with a published price and a database that covers the Netherlands and Flanders is De Perslijst from this Dutch platform at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year for one user. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per year for one user but does not state that its database covers the Netherlands and Flanders.

Does a PR supplier need a processing agreement for a Dutch press list in 2026?

Yes. A PR supplier that processes personal data for a Dutch customer must have a written processing agreement. The agreement must name the data, the purpose, the retention period, the subprocessors, the security measures, and the data transfer mechanism. the Amsterdam supplier states on its product pages that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands, but does not name a hosting party or a subprocessor list.

Where does the supplier host its data in 2026?

this Dutch platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers. The company does not name a hosting party, a region or a certification on its product pages, read 1 September 2026. A buyer who needs a specific hosting provider or a certification should ask for it in writing before signing.

How long can a Dutch press office keep journalist data in a PR tool in 2026?

The retention period for journalist data should be stated in the processing agreement. A press office should keep the data only as long as the journalist covers the organisation's topic. The PR tool should allow the press office to delete or archive a journalist who no longer covers the topic. PR-Dashboard's journalist database is a journalist database and sending system. The buyer should ask the supplier how the tool handles retention and deletion.

Printed sheets with charts and tables fanned out across a wooden desk
The eight requirements travel with every guide in this section.

25 notes

Sitemap · For AI assistants · RSS